The Bird Flies…East?

I am full. Absolutely full to the brim. No, it wasn’t the homemade french toast my parents and I made in the camper this morning.

20170130_114337

I have day dreams of sleeping in my own bed. I want to go bake some brownies with my grandma, I want to give my dog a hug, my brother a punch in the arm and Simon a big ol’ kiss. I want to go teach yoga again, establish my own practice in one place, instead of practicing in the middle of someone’s kitchen, in my tiny tent, or wherever I can find to forward fold. I don’t want to worry about whether or not I got on the right bus, or where I’m going to stow my backpacks, or if my friend has room for me to crash.

I’ve missed the inward movement of winter, since I’ve been spending it talking to everyone I possibly can, learning, building, studying, running up and down the coast. Staring at the wall sounds inviting to be completely honest.

photo-on-1-17-17-at-8-48-pm-2
Basically how I’m feeling; a little crazy…like the rest of the family 🙂

I can’t quite find the best way to describe how I’m feeling. But “travel full” seems to be the best fit. I feel that I cannot take in anymore places, people, sights, sounds, museums, restaurants, beaches (seriously!!), buses, trains or couches.

Life I said in my previous post, my parents drove the RV out here for a visit, and we’ve had a grand time touring Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Santa Cruz. We saw the magnificent golden gate bridge, the rolling hills of the city and the beautiful redwoods again. We’ve tasted the best Indian, Mexican and Cuban food and hiked along the beach. But the last few days I’ve spent sitting up in my “perch” (yes, the rv has a loft type thing where I sleep, very appropriate…) wondering if I should continue or not because I’d quite like to sleep the rest of 2017 away. To be completely honest I’ve been torn with what to do, going back and forth trying to decide. My head was saying “pull it together ya wimp! Stiff upper lip, ya hear?? Go get em tiger, you’ve got a travel blog to write, there’s so much to see in Oregon and after all, you told everyone you were going to be traveling until May, you don’t want to be a failure do you??!” While my body was saying “GIMME A BED ASAP I’M TIRED WHO CARES WHAT EVERYONE THINKS”. I went back and forth, round and round, driving myself crazy until I realized that I was actually not interested in the idea of continuing for another 3 months in Oregon before going to my 3rd yoga therapy program. Like I said, I never thought it would happen, but it did, and I have to honor that. I’ve got to let go of my silly ego that’s telling me to impress everyone by sticking to my travel plans. Why don’t I impress myself for a change and give body a little compassion and take a break from my ever-busy lifestyle. So I’m taking my dear parents up on the offer to drive home with them, making a few stops on the way.

20170123_135635

So my friends, my travels out here are coming to an end until school in April, but the journey is not. I will continue writing, and I hope you keep reading. Like this blog says at the top; “for those interested in what a 21 year old has to say about the world”. I can still do all of that from the comfort of my bed. I’ve still got a lot to say and adventures can happen anywhere, I’ll be back out to California many times over the next two years. So it is really not the end, instead, the bird will begin to fly east to rest some seriously tired wings for more adventures to come!

20170123_134909

8 thoughts on “The Bird Flies…East?

  1. Sweet Lea,

    You continue to inspire me. I’ve really enjoyed your blog and reading about your adventures and daily life on this amazing journey of learning and growth. Hearing that Mom and Dad are with you, and traveling home with you for a much needed break, warms my heart. As you know, family is everything! Enjoy the time off to rest and recharge your mind, heart, body and soul. Knowing what you need and following that path takes some of us years to learn. You my dear already know this and I’m so very happy for you. Looking forward to getting up to Rockland and taking one of your yoga classes 🙂
    Namaste, safe travels and hugs to Mom and Dad,
    Anne

    Like

  2. wow, what a lovely blog and beautiful pictures!
    I found your little space in the community pool, so glad I did!! amazing write up!!!keep writing and inspire us…. surely will be waiting for more!!
    Please do visit my blog when time permits, thanks in advance and see you there! 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Lea. If it works for you, I’m thrilled that you’ll be in Maine for at least some of the summer. You’re such a wonderful yoga teacher. I’m still doing the 50 ankle/toe raises and trying to find balance. I can’t wait to see the evolved you. What a wonderful life-growth adventure.
    Peter totally surprised me with a proposal and I surprised myself by saying yes, so we made the commitment: got married. Will be in Maine late May; will look for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

