Relaxed, I am.

It’s been a little while since I’ve updated my blog, but I haven’t felt like too much has changed here. I’m still in Oceanside, and still really enjoying some rare low-key time. I think the most exciting thing that’s happened in the last few weeks was dumping both the veggie remnants and myself into the compost pile. I was walking with such gusto with the leftovers in hand, looking around at the beautiful, blue sky. I guess I was walking too fast and not paying attention to my whereabouts in space because the next thing I knew I was over the wall and in with the rotting food. HA. I had a good laugh.

At first when I found myself spending more time at the house than out exploring the beach and nearby towns I was questioning myself and why I wasn’t up and at ’em every day. I almost felt bad for being all the way out here and not soaking it up. But I never get such sweet time like this to really do some things that have been sitting on the back burner (or in my computer’s bookmarks) for a while. I’ve finally had the time to really research some topics I’ve been wanting to study and learn about, write more poetry and just think. And my time in Oceanside is sandwiched between two very busy (but exciting) adventures. I came here from the beautiful Newport/Laguna beaches and LA, visiting many friends and sightseeing all day. And in a few weeks I’ll head a little further south to meet Simon in San Diego for New Years and adventuring out in the city and surrounding area. So it’s nice to have this little chill out/regroup/take care of homework time before I’m off again. And I came to terms with feeling bad about it all, because I’m doing what I need. Travel, no matter where is tiring, so taking a break helps to make those adventurous times more enriching when they come around. I guess the other thing about being here in Oceanside is that most of these seaside cities are pretty much the same; you’ve got the beach, the pier, and some surf shops, which is great of course, but not when you feel like you’re wandering the same city with a different name. There’s no doubt that each city has it’s own personal flair, but sometimes stepping back and literally (we’re on top of a large hill) looking at everything from above is necessary.

All that being said I went to the beach the other day, because I needed a little break…from my break. The change of scenery was nice and I met some interesting characters. The weather is definitely changing, you can tell the tourists from the locals. The newcomers are in bathing suits jumping in the ocean, while the locals (besides surfers) are bundled up in puffy coats and hats. I’m stuck somewhere in the middle. On my walk to the bus stop to take me to the beach I had short sleeves and shorts on and got some funny looks from people driving by in hats and scarves. By the time I got to the beach though, I had goosebumps and decided not to put my bathing suit on. I enjoyed walking around the beach and talking to people. I talked to a man in his late forties on the bus back home who told me he’s just retired from a gang four years ago, and was happy to be alive. I was interested in his story and he shared some things about his “young homies” still out on the streets, and how they were turning to making hip hop music instead of violence to be heard and express their trials and tribulations. The whole conversation started because he had a mini speaker attached to his jacket and was playing some of their music. He wasn’t quite sure where Maine was, but after a little explanation I got the “what are you doing way out here?!?” response. At this point I should just carry around some note cards to hand out to people, from the amount of times I’ve been asked this question. But truthfully, I like to hear people’s reactions. His was quickly said as he got off the bus “Wow, stay away from the drama, and get home soon wont ya? Have a good day now”. Some quality advice; stay away the stuff that drags you down and make sure to check in with your mother every one in a while, you got it!

Karen and I went to the farmer’s market the other day and loaded up on locally grown kiwis, apples, persimmons and a ton of veggies. There were a few fruits and veggies that I’d never seen before and am hoping to try soon, hopefully I can remember the name. Persimmons are a new favorite, it seems to be 50/50 here, either you like them or you don’t. They have an interesting, slimy texture which might put some people off, but the flavor is super sweet and delicious.

Ari is a big fan of Star Wars so we’ve been having a movie marathon in preparation for the upcoming release of the new movie. I forgot how much I like Star Wars and the interesting similarities between “the force” and what I’m studying about energy and Prana (life force) in yoga.

“You will know (the good from the bad) when you are calm, at peace. Passive.”-Yoda

“You will find only what you bring in.”- Yoda

“It’s an energy field created by all living things. It surrounds us and penetrates us; it binds the galaxy together.” – Obi-Wan Kenobi

Looking at these quotes from the movies it’s easy to see the similarities, especially the last one. It is the essence, the thing that binds us together, the Self. Self is a word that is generously sprinkled in the Yoga Sutras regarding your true human nature and how at this level you are one with everything around you, no different. It’s just a shame in Star Wars that the “Dark Side” or as I like to think, the physical manifestations of fear, hate and anger, are portrayed as highly powerful and can easily infiltrate the good guys. This concept is also generously mentioned in the movies quite often, especially by Yoda.

“Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering.” -Yoda

Pretty straight forward here, maybe Yoda was a living interpretation of Yoga? His name sure seems pretty close, but who knows.

Well, this is going to be another brief post, and I haven’t really taken many new pictures the last few weeks so…

d15592833a3b98afcb5a1eec80c7bbdf

May the force (prana, energy, Self) be with you. Talk to you later, I will. -My feeble Yoda impression

 

7 thoughts on “Relaxed, I am.

Leave a Reply

